Mirantis Training and the OpenStack Foundation Certification

During the most recent OpenStack Summit in Tokyo, the OpenStack Foundation announced that it would be offering their first certification exam, Certified OpenStack Administrator (COA), in 2016. Since then, Mirantis has been working closely with the Foundation and the OpenStack community to develop the COA certification exam. We contributed training and certification expertise and played an integral part in the Item Writing Committee and the Job Task Analysis Committee. And today, after much anticipation, the COA certification exam is finally available.

Mirantis is proud of its contributions to the OpenStack Foundation’s Certified OpenStack Administrator (COA) exam, and we also realize that its debut raises new questions around Mirantis’ OpenStack certification offerings. In this blog, we’ll outline a few key areas that we think will matter most to current and prospective OpenStack students.

Foundation Certification Mirantis
Maturity Since Q2’2016 Since Q4’2013
Professionals certified N/A 3,000+
Vendor agnostic Yes Yes Yes
Development OpenStack community contributors Mirantis product development and training curriculum team
Certification Support N/A Dedicated Mirantis training team
Exams available COA Associate Level MCA100 Professional Level MCA200
Format Online, hands-on Online, written test Classroom & online, hands-on
Proctored Yes No Yes

Mirantis offers two certifications: Associate Level MCA100 and Professional Level MCA200. The MCA100 exam is a written test offered online, which allows test takers to save money on travel costs while scheduling the exam at their convenience. The MCA200 is a hands-on exam that is offered in person at our OpenStack bootcamps and now also available online, as a proctored exam. The difficulty level of both exams is high and passing them truly proves in-depth OpenStack knowledge.

Although its actual exam questions are different and its credibility is not yet proven, the COA has many similarities to Mirantis certifications. Both the COA and Mirantis’ certifications are vendor agnostic, testing knowledge of vanilla OpenStack, not a particular vendor distribution. This means that Mirantis Training bootcamps will continue to be an excellent investment for IT professionals around the globe advance their skills in OpenStack. It is the highest rated training for OpenStack, providing students with a vendor-agnostic, detailed understanding of all of the steps needed to deploy and operate OpenStack.

Both exams will also be updated as OpenStack technology matures – Mirantis with the largest vendor pool of OpenStack engineering talent in the world, and the COA by OpenStack’s excellent community contributors (some of which work at Mirantis). And like Mirantis’ MCA200 exam, the new COA certification exam is closely monitored by proctors via a webcam and remote screen viewing, maintaining the security and the integrity of the exam.

Whether you choose to become certified through COA, Mirantis, or another vendor is entirely up to you. What we can promise is that Mirantis courses and certifications are well known in the industry as a standard for proving one’s in-depth knowledge surrounding OpenStack. Over the past three years, 3,000 professionals have been certified for OpenStack by Mirantis, and Fortune 500 companies like Ericsson, AT&T, and GCI, have trusted our OpenStack certification to measure and prove their OpenStack engineers’ professional competency in OpenStack. We even have a popular certification portal to help connect Mirantis certified professionals and employers looking for verified OpenStack professionals.

To learn more about Mirantis bootcamps and certification exams for OpenStack, visit training.mirantis.com. We hope to see you in one of our classrooms soon.

This entry was posted in Aktualisierung, Blog, Mirantis certification, Mirantis training, OpenStack, OpenStack certification, OpenStack training, Wolke. Bookmark the permalink.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind markiert *